American Numismatic Association Board of Governors Open Session Meeting Tuesday, September 5, 2023 4:00pm MT [3:00pm PT / 5:00pm CT/ 6:00pm ET]

Call to Order – President Tom Uram **Roll Call** – Secretary Sandy Pearl 1. Approval of Open Session Minutes – President Tom Uram MOTION by ______ to approve the minutes of the Board of Governors' Open Session Meetings held at the Pittsburgh World's Fair of Money® on August 11 & 12, 2023. **2. Audit Committee Appointment** – President Tom Uram In accordance with Article IV, Section 4 of the ANA Bylaws: The elected Board of Governors shall have all authority to appoint the Audit Committee and its members. MOTION by _____, second by _____ to appoint Clifford Mishler as Chair; Mark Anderson, Joseph Boling, and Governor Mary Lynn Garrett as members of the 2023-2025 ANA Audit Committee. 3. Other Committee Appointments – President Tom Uram In accordance with Article IV, Section 2 of the ANA Bylaws, the nomination of the committee chairs and members is subject to an affirmative vote of the Board of Governors for all committees not otherwise provided for in the Bylaws. MOTION by _____ second by ____ to approve the appointment of these committee chairs and members:

Awards Committee

awardscom@money.org

Sandy Pearl, Chair

Mike Ellis

Barbara Gregory

Mark Lighterman, Board Liaison

Clifford Mishler Caleb Noel

Donna Nunez, Staff Liaison

Bylaws & Ethics Committee

bylaws@money.org

Doug Andrews, Chair

Joseph Boling Benjamin Costello Charmy Harker Gary Lewis

Mark Lighterman, Board Liaison

Clifford Mishler

Donna Nunez, Staff Liaison

Phyllis Ross

Michael Shutterly

Hollie Wieland, General Counsel

Convention Committee

concom@money.org

David Heinrich, Chair

Jennifer Ackerman, Staff Liaison

John Brush Logan Curtis Mary Lynn Garrett Sam Joseph

Lori Kraft, Board Liaison

Mark Lighterman Donna Moon

Executive Committee (Set per Bylaws)

execom@money.org

Tom Uram, President

Mark Lighterman, Vice President Kim Kiick, Executive Director Ralph Ross, Past President Hollie Wieland, General Counsel Education & YN Programs Committee

educom@money.org

Christian Strayhorn, Chair & Staff Liaison

William Cather

Mike Ellis

Mary Lynn Garrett, Board Liaison

Sam Gelberd Paula Knepper Lisa Loos

Emile Mestressat Walter Ostromecki Kenny Sammut Jeff Swindling Abby Zechman

Exhibits Committee

exhibcom@money.org

Simcha Kuritzky, Chair

V. Kurt Bellman

Joseph Boling, Chief Judge

Halbert Carmichael

Logan Curtis, Staff Liaison

Steven D'Ippolito Eric Holcomb

Reeshemah Howard

Paul Hybert Brett Irick

Mark Lighterman, Board Liaison & National

Exhibits Coordinator

Donna Moon Oded Paz Jeff Rosinia Michael Shutterly

Finance & Budget Committee

finance@money.org

Larry Baber, Chair

John Brush

Brent Howe, Staff Liaison Erik Jansen, Treasurer

Henry Mitchell, Board Liaison

Phyllis Ross Roger Siboni

Fund Development Committee

fundraising@money.org Patrick McBride, Chair

Donna Frater, Staff Liaison

Don Kagin Kim Kiick

Clifford Mishler

Phyllis Ross, Board Liaison

Tom Uram

Marketing Committee

marketcom@money.org

Kenny Sammut, Chair

Pete Gentzler Lori Kraft

Amanda Miller

Deb Muehleisen, Staff Liaison Phyllis Ross, Board Liaison

Ken Sammut Max Spiegel

Membership & Outreach Committee

outreach@money.org

Rod Frechette, Chair V. Kurt Bellman

Mark Ferguson Sheila Fortenberry

Donna Frater, Staff Liaison

Mike Fuljenz Richard Jozefiak Shai Landreneaux Robert Mellor Rob Oberth Ken Sammut

Kenny Sammut, Board Liaison

Phil Vitale

Museum/Library Committee

museumlibrary@money.org

Doug Mudd, Chair & Staff Liaison

Larry Baber
Anne Bentley
Rick Ewing
David Fanning
Erik Goldstein
David Heinrich
Carlos Kearns
Mark Lighterman

Akio Lis

Henry Mitchell, Board Liaison

Ray Williams

Publication Committee

pubcom@money.org

Caleb Noel, Chair & Staff Liaison

Roger Boye Barbara Gregory

David Heinrich, Board Liaison

Clifford Mishler Steve Roach Kenny Sammut

Seminars Committee

semicom@money.org

John Brush, Chair

Jennifer Ackerman, Staff Liaison

Sheila Fortenberry Paula Knepper

Henry Mitchell, Board Liaison

Christian Strayhorn

4. Discussion of Oklahoma City World's Fair of Money® **2026** – Governor John Brush

Summary: When I decided to run for the board, I reached out to the DLRC collector base and touched base with many dealers throughout the country with whom I have a relationship. The topic of interest that was most widely discussed was the concern of the

location of the 2026 World's Fair of Money. After the election occurred, I was pulled aside by many national dealers on the bourse floor who wanted to discuss this as well. I understand that we may not have an option to consider relocating this show at this late of a notice, but I think that the topic deserves to be discussed as it seems to be a rather hot button issue amongst membership (and the past board).

Points:

6.

- 1. Summary of comments made from national dealers
- 2. Summary of comments from collectors
- 3. Summary of comments from some local dealers and those from the Oklahoma area

5. Approval to Accept Donation – Executive Director Kim Kiick

7. Executive Director Report – Executive Director Kim Kiick

ANA Policy Manual: Donation Approval The Executive Director will promptly notify the President of any proposed donation of \$10,000 or more, whether in cash, materials or kind.
In addition, the Executive Director will promptly notify the Board of Governors of any proposed donation of \$20,000 or more, whether in cash, materials or kind, for board approval except for anonymous donations.
On amounts under \$20,000 the Association reserves the right to decline any donation in part or in its entirety at the sole discretion of the Executive Director. On amounts of \$20,000 or more, the board will evaluate them on a case by case basis and reserves the right to decline any donation in part or in its entirety.
MOTION by, second by to approve acceptance of a material gift from John & Nancy Wilson, the estimated value of which exceeds \$20,000.
Motion on Email Polling – Vice President Mark Lighterman
MOTION by <u>Vice President Lighterman</u> , second by to stop the use of email poll voting until the parameters are agreed upon by board action.

8. Next Board of Governors Meeting – President Tom Uram

The next regular Board of Governors meeting is set on October 10, 2023 at 4:00pm MT [3:00pm PT / 5:00pm CT/ 6:00pm ET] via Zoom.

[ADJOURN]